Cring motivains and office of the second sec

Relieved tomphine

1950-1951

WOMAN'S CLUB Old Mission, Michigan 1950 - - 1951

Club Colors - Green and White
Emblem - Pine Tree

Club Collect

"Keep us, 0 God, from pettiness; let us be large in thought, in word, in deed.

Let us be done with fault-finding

and leave off self-seeking.

May we put away all pretense, and meet each other face to face - without self pity and without prejudice.

May we never be hasty in judgment

and always generous.

Let us take time for all things; make us to grow calm, serene, gentle

reach us to put into action our better impulses, straightforward and unafraid.

Grant that we may realize it is the little things that create differences that in the big things of life we are as one.

And may we strive to touch and to know the great common, human heart of us all, and, oh, Lord God, let us forget not to be kind!"

⁻ Mary Stewart

"The man who removed the mountain, was the man who began to carry away the small stones."

Past Presidents

Mrs. Carlton Ladd - - -1931-1936 Mrs. Marshall Pratt - -1936-1938 Miss Gertrude Lardie -1938-1941 Mrs. Roy Holmes - - - -1941-1942 Mrs. Curtis Leighton -1942-1943 Mrs. Waldo Spruit - - -1943-1944 Mrs. Wm. Marshall - - -1944-1946 Mrs. Murry Tompkins - -1946-1947 Mrs. Julius P. Marshall 1947-1949

Officers

President - - - Mrs. G. Altenburg Vice President Mrs. D. Cowan Secretary - - - Miss O. Ostlund Treasurer - - - Mrs. F. Weatherholt

Program Committee

Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski
Mrs. Murry Tompkins
Mrs. John D. Marshall
Mrs. Roy Ostlund
Mrs. Jerry Mikesell
Mrs. Willard Berry

Projects Committee

Chairman: Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Sr.

Mrs. James Bryant Mrs. Roy Holmes

Mrs. Arthur Mlujeak

Mrs. Frank Weatherholt

Chairman of Publicity:

Mrs. Clyde Leighton

September 28

Summer is a step behind us, And Autumn's a thought before-

Oh, how good it feels! The hand of an old friend.

Luncheon

Program: Old Settler's Meeting

Roll Call: Bring an old picture.

Reception Committee: Dr. Eloise Walker

Mrs. Wm. Peck

Hostesse Mrs. Norman Nevinger

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Murry Tompkins Mrs. John D. Marshall

Mrs. Willard Berry

Mrs. L. E. Sobkowski

Mrs. O. B. Tompkins

Mrs. Roy Ostlund

PAY YOUR DUES TODAY

October 19

Certain as morning success seems to come

To those chosen people who have a green thumb.

Chairman: Mrs. John D. Marshall

Program: African Violets
Mrs. Edwin Melin

Roll Call: Hints concerning house plants

Hostess: Mrs. Robert Fuller

Co-hostesses: Mrs. David Cowan Mrs. Lawton Atwood

November 2

Never underestimate the power of a woman.

Chairman: Mrs. Murry Tompkins

Program Laws Pertaining to Women Ormand Danford

Roll Call: Name the outstanding woman of the past year in your opinion.

Hostess: Mrs. Julius P. Marshall

Co-hostesses: Mrs. W. G. Tompkins Mrs. Robert De Vol

November 16

Eternal vigilance is the price of peace.

Chairman: Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski

Program: World Peace - - - Panel
Mrs. Willard Berry
Mrs. Lawton Atwood
Mrs. M. V. Gleason
Mrs. James Bryant

Roll Call: Give a point of interest concerning war or peace.

Hostess: Mrs. Roy Ostlund

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Roy Holmes
Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski

November 30

We may live without friends. We may live without books--But civilized man cannot Live without cooks.

Chairman: Mrs. Roy Ostlund

Program: Cake Decoration Mrs. N. Potter

Roll Call: Give a favorite cooking tip.

Hostess: Mrs. M. V. Gleason

Co-hostesses: Mrs. John D. Marshall Mrs. Arthur Mlujeak

December 14

As long as there are children--There will always be a Christmas.

Evening Program

Chairman: Mrs. Jerry Mikesell

Program: Christmas
Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Roll Call: Give a Christmas tradition.

Hostess: Mrs. George Altenburg

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak Miss Olive Ostlund

January 4

Nothing is of value unless it can be shared.

Chairman: Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski

Program: Travelogue Mrs. Wm. Marshall

Roll Call: Where would you like to take a trip?

Hostess: Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Sr.

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Arthur Wheelock Mrs. Marshall Pratt

January 18

To thee and thy come a hearty welcome!

Men's Night

Steering Committee:

Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Mrs. Clyde Leighton

Mrs. Chester Pingry

Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Mrs. Oscar Thomas

February 1

That is a good book which is opened with expectation and closed with profit.

Chairman: Mrs. Willard Berry

Program: Book Review Mrs. O. M. Tompkins

Roll Call: What book would you recommend most highly to a friend?

Hostess: Mrs. Curtis Leighton

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Frank Phelps Mrs. Clyde Leighton

February 15

A thing seriously pursued provides true enjoyment.

Chairman: Mrs. John D. Marshall

Program: Hobbies
Miss Mary Bagley

Roll Call: Bring a representation of your hobby.

Hostess: Mrs. Jerry Mikesell

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Chester Pingry Mrs. Oscar Thomas

March 1

"The ground work of all happiness is health."

Chairman: Mrs. Jerry Mikesell

Program: Health

Mrs. David Cowan

Roll Call: Name your favorite health habit.

Hostess: Mrs. Wm. Marshall

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Murry Tompkins Mrs. O. M. Tompkins

March 15

"If you want something done, Ask the busy man to do it."

Chairman: Mrs. Murry Tompkins

Program:

Mrs. Mary Dorman

Roll Call: Recite a short verse or pay a dime.

Hostess: Mrs. Frank Weatherholt

Co-hostesses: Miss Olive Ostlund Mrs. Robert De Vol March 22

Easter Tea

Program Committee:

Mrs. O. B. Tompkins Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Tea Committee:

Mrs. Arthur Mlujeak Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Jr. Miss Olive Ostlund

At the Old Mission Church

April 5

"Let's conserve our most precious resource - - our youth."

Chairman: Mrs. Roy Ostlund

Program: Youth Guidance
Miss Hazel Hardacre

Roll Call: What age would you like to be the rest of your life?

Hostess: Mrs. James Bryant

Co-hostesses: Mrs. Roy Holmes
Mrs. Marshall Pratt

May 11

"Never yet was a Springtime When the buds forgot to grow."

Spring Luncheon

Arrangements in charge of executive board.

Roll Call: Suggest a project for next year.

Election of officers

In Memoriam

"---My morn has just begun; I greet the dawn and not the setting sun; When all is done."

> Mrs. Judson Ladd Mrs. Kathryn Drew Mrs. A. J. Prescott Mrs. Waldo Spruit Miss Susan Walker

Membership

Mrs. George Altenburg

Mrs. Lawton Atwood

Mrs. Luther Baldwin (Honorary)

Mrs. Willard Berry

Mrs. James Bryant Mrs. David Cowan

Mrs. Edgar De Vol

Mrs. Robert De Vol

Mrs. Robert Fuller

Mrs. Van Gleason

Mrs. Roy Holmes

Mrs. Curtis Leighton

Mrs..Clyde Leighton

Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Sr.

Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Jr.

Mrs. John D. Marshall

Mrs. Julius P. Marshall

Mrs. William Marshall

Mrs. Jerry Mikesell

Mrs. Arthur Mlujeak

Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Mrs. Max Musser AAssociate)

Mrs. Norman Nevinger

Mrs. Frank Ostlund (Associate)

Miss Olive Ostlund

Mrs. Roy Ostlund

Mrs. Marshall Pratt

Mrs. William Peck (Honorary)

Mrs. Chester Pingry Mrs. Frank Phelps

Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski

Mrs. Oscar Thomas

Mrs. Murry Tompkins

Mrs. Oliver B. Tompkins Mrs. Oliver M. Tompkins

Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Mrs. W. Gill Tompkins

Dr. Eloise Walker

Mrs. Frank Weatherholt

Mrs. Arthur Wheelock