Thomasia Chil 1964-1965

# OLD MISSION WOMAN'S CLUB 1964-1965 CLUB COLORS - GREEN AND WHITE CLUB EMBLEM - PINE TREE ORGANIZED 1931

#### THOUGHT FOR THE YEAR

"Nothing great is ever accomplished without enthusiasm."

Emerson

#### -Club Collect-

"Keep us, O God, from pettiness let us be large in thought, in

word, in deed.

Let us be done with faultfinding and leave off self-seeking.
May we put away all pretense,
and meet each other face to
face without self-pity and without prejudice.

May we never be hasty in judge-

ment and always generous.

Let us take time for all things, make us calm, serene, gentle.

Teach us to put into action our better impulses, straight-for-ward and unafraid.

ward and unalraid.

Grant that we may realize it is the little things that create differences, that in the big things of life we are at one.

And may we strive to touch and know the great, common, human heart of us all, and Oh Lord, God let us forget not-to be kind."

Mary Stewart

#### Officers

President: Ilrs. F. Weatherholt Vice Pres: Miss Hazel Ladd Secretury: Mrs. Roy Ostlund Treasurer: Mrs. Robert Fuller

#### Past Presidents

Mrs. Carleton Ladd Mrs. Marshall Pratt Miss Gertrude Lardie Mrs. Roy Holmes Mrs. Curtis Leighton Hrs. Waldo Spruit Mrs. William Larshall Mrs. Murray Tompkins Mrs. Carl Pratt Mrs. George Altenburg Mrs. David Cowan Miss Olive Ostlund Mrs. John Marshall Mrs. Oliver Tompkins Mrs. James Horton Mrs. Leonard Sobkowski Mrs. Seth Tompkins

#### MEMBERSHIP

Mrs. George Altenburg Mrs. Thomas Bee Mrs. Willard Berry Mrs. David Cowan Mrs. Lester Dana Mrs. Robert DeVol Mrs. Marvin DeYoung Mrs. George Donick Miss Annette Evans Mrs. Robert Fuller Mrs. Roy Holmes Mrs. James Horton Mrs. Walter Johnson Mrs. Frances Kelsey Mrs. Walter LaBatt Mrs. Carleton Ladd Miss Hazel Ladd Mrs. Roy Lahr Mrs. Curtis Leighton Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Jr. Mrs. William Marshall Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

-continued-

Membership - continued

Mrs. Max Musser
Miss Olive Ostlund
Mrs. Roy Ostlund
Mrs. Frank Phelps
Mrs. Carl Pratt
Mrs. Marshall Pratt
Mrs. Oscar Thomas
Mrs. Garthe Tompkins
Mrs. Oliver Tompkins
Mrs. Seth Tompkins
Mrs. Seth Tompkins
Miss Marjorie Votey
Mrs. Edward Valker
Miss Lillian Wallace
Mrs. Frank Weatherholt

Associate Members

Mrs. Edgar DeVol Mrs. John Marshall Mrs. Frank Ostlund Mrs. Waldo Spruit

Honorary Member

Mrs. Murry Tompkins

#### Committees

Program-

Mrs. Carleton Ladd - Chairman

Mrs. David Cowan Mrs. Max Musser

Mrs. George Altenburg

Miss Olive Ostlund

Projects-

Mrs. Carl Pratt - Chairman

Mrs. Oliver Tompkins Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Mrs. Walter Johnson

Miss Annette Evans

Publicity-

Mrs. James Horton

Hospital Service-

Mrs. David Cowan

Mrs. Thomas Bee

Hospitality-

Mrs. Oscar Thomas

-continued-

#### Committees - continued

Bake Sale-Miss Olive Ostlund Mrs. William Marshall Mrs. Robert Fuller

Nominating Committee-Mrs. Roy Holmes - Chairman Miss Lillian Wallace Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

## October 1st,.

Buffet Supper

6:30 P.N.

"Old times are past, new times are strange, but friendships true will never change."

Program Chairman: Mrs. MaxMusser

Program: Tim Carroll's letters from Nigeria on his experiences in the Peace Corp.

Thought for the day:

New business for the coming year, and County Federation reports.

#### Hostesses:

Miss Haxel Ladd
Mrs. Carleton Ladd
Mrs. Curtis Leighton
Mrs. Frank Phelps
Mrs. Edward Walker
Mrs. William Marshall
Mrs. Walter LaBatt

# October 15th, .

7:30 P.M.

"Your vote makes a difference, you have that priviledge, now use it."

Program Chairman:
Ers. Carleton Ladd

Program: Mrs. Seth Tompkins will introduce two speakers from the "League of Women Voters". They will discuss both party plat-forms.

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Miss Annette Evans Miss Lillian Wallace October 29th, .

2:30 P.M.

"Be a traveler, not a tourist."

Program Chairman: Mrs. Max Musser

Program: Traveling thru Europe with Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Altenburg.

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Max Musser Mrs. James Horton

## November 12th,.

7:30 P.M.

"Our very existance depends on good clean water."

Program Chairman: Mrs. Max Musser

Program: Water pollution in the Bays. - Mr. Jack Judd, Tri-County Health Unit.

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Carl Pratt
Mrs. Frances Kelsey

# December 10th,.

7:30 P.M.

"A Merry Christman to one and all."

Program Chairman:
Mrs. George Altenburg

Program: Miss Votey will instruct in making Christmas articles for hospital patients.

Thought for the day:

Music: Mrs. Walter Johnson

Hostesses: Mrs. GeorgeAltenburg
Mrs. Robert DeVol
Mrs. Oscar Thomas

# January 7th,.

2:30 P.M.

"Thy not make your medicine a good hobby."

Program Chairman: Mrs. DavidCowan

Program: Old Coins and Stamps Mr. Phil Balyeat Mr. Jack Solomonson

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Roy Ostlund Mrs. Ken Manigold, Jr.

# January 21st, .

7:30 P.M.

"Travel is a part of education. He that traveleth into a foreign country goeth to school."

Program Chairman:
Miss Olive Ostlund

Program: My summer in Sweden as a participant in the "Better understanding Of Youth" program.

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Marvin DeYoung Mrs. Thomas Bee

# February 4th,. 2:30 P.M.

"Far away places come closer when we know more about them."

Program Chairman:
Mrs. Carleton Ladd

Program: The Virgin Islands
Mrs. Phillip Montague

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Oliver Tompkins Mrs. Willard Berry

mor Robert Fineler

# February 18th, .

### 7:30 P.M.

"Most joyful let the poet be for it is thru him that all men see."

Program Chairman:
Mrs. Carleton Ladd

Program: Michigan Poets
Mrs. Marvin DeYoung

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak Hiss Olive Ostlund

March 4th,. 2:30 P.M.

"May we have the strength of ten to help those who need our help."

Program Chairman:
Mrs. Carleton Ladd

Program: "Camp Royale"
Mr. Roy Brigman

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Marshall Pratt Mrs. Roy Holmes March 25

7:30 P.M.

"First in the hearts of all countrymen."

Program Chairman: Mrs. DavidCowan

Program: Our work contribution to the American Red Cross. This will be an evening of work for the local chapter.

Thought for the day:

Hostesses: Mrs. Robert Fuller Mrs. David Cowan

mis oliver Tomphins

April 8th,.

2:30 P.M. Easter Tea

Ogdensburg Methodist Church

Program Chairman:

Mrs. George Altenburg

Program: Speaker-

Mrs. James Pound

Music: Mrs. Walter Johnson

Thought for the day:

Hostesses:

Mrs. Seth Tompkins-Chair. Mrs. Roy Lahr

Miss Marjorie Votey Mrs. Lester Dana

Mrs. Frank Weatherholt

Mrs. Garthe Tompkins

Please invite a friend.

# April 22nd,.

7:30 P.M.

"Oh could I fly, I'd fly with thee, We'd make a joyful wing, Our annual visit o'er the globe, Companions of the Spring."

Program Chairman:
Mrs. George Altenburg

Program: Michigan Birds
Miss Olive Ostlund

Thought for the day:

Second half of program: Fun time auction. Proceeds to go to the Crippled Childrens Fund.

Hostesses: Mrs. Walter Johnson Mrs. George Donick "To live in the hearts we leave behind is not to die."

Mrs. Judson Ladd
Mrs. John Drew
Mrs. Albert Prescott
Mrs. Evelyn Spruit
Dr. Eloise Walker
Miss Susan Walker
Mrs. Luther Baldwin
Mrs. William Peck
Mrs. Arthur Pingry
Miss Gertrude Lardie
Mrs. W. Gill Tompkins

May Sth, .

# SPRING LUNCHEON

Arrangements to be made by the Executive Board.

last meeting.