

OLD MISSION WOMAN'S CLUB

1965-1966

CLUB COLORS-GREEN AND WHITE

CLUB EMBLEM-PINE TREE

ORGANIZED 1931

THOUGHT FOR THE YEAR

I would not tade this town of mine For a city cold apart; The pattern of its warmth I keep Blueprinted in my heart. -Club Collect-

"Keep us, 0 God, from pettiness let us be large in thought, in word, in deed.

Let'us be done with faultfinding

and leave off self-seeking.

May we put away pretense, and meet each other face to face without self-pity and without prejudice. May we never be hasty in judgement and always generous.

Let us take time for all things,

make us calm, semhe, gentle.

Teach us to put into action our better impulses, straight-forward and unafraid.

Grant that we may realize it is the little things that create differences, that in the big things of life we are at one.

And may we strive to touch and know the great, common, human heart of us all, and Oh Lord, God let us forget not-to be kind."

Mary Stewart

Officers

President: Mrs. F. Weatherholt

Vice Pres: Miss Hagel Ladd

Secretary: Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Treasurer: Mrs. Robert Fuller

Past Presidents

Mrs. Carleton Ledd

Mrs. Mershall Pratt Miss Gertrude Lardie

Mrs. Roy Holmes

Mrs. Curtis Leighton

Mrs. Waldo Spruit

Mrs. William Marshall

Mrs. Murry Tompkins

Mrs. Carl Pratt

Mrs. George Altenburg

Mrs. Mae Cowan

Mrs. Carl McManus

Mrs. John Marshall

Mrs. Oliver Tompkins

Mrs. James Horton

Mrs. Lenard Sobkowski

Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Membership

Mrs. Clarence Altenburg Mrs. George Altenburg Mrs. Theron Bailey Mrs. Thomas Bee Mrs. Willard Berry Mrs. Mae Cowan Mrs. Lester Dana Mrs. Robert DeVol Mrs. George Donick Miss Annette Evens Mrs. Robert Fuller Mrs. Bracken Gilmore Mrs. Roy Holmes Mrs. James Horton Mrs. Lalter Johnson Mrs. Frances Kelsey Mrs. Lalter LaBatt Mrs. Carlton Ladd Mrs. Curtis Leighton Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Jr. Mrs. William Marshall Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Membership-Continued

Mrs. Max Musser
Mrs. Roy Ostlund
Mrs. Frank Phelps
Mrs. Carl Pratt
Mrs. Marshall Pratt
Mrs. Oscar Thomas
Mrs. Garth Tompkins
Mrs. Oliver Tompkins
Mrs. Seth Tompkins
Mrs. Seth Tompkins
Miss Marjorie Votey
Mrs. Edward Valker
Miss Lillian Vallace
Mrs. Frank Veatherholt

Associate Members Mrs. Edgar DeVol Mrs. John Marshall Mrs. Carl McManus Mrs. Frank Ostlund Mrs. Waldo Spruit

Honorary Members Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Sr. Mrs. Murry Tompkins

Committees

Program-

Mrs. William Marshall-Chairman

Mrs. Carl Pratt

Mrs. Edward Walker

Mrs. Thomas Bee

Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Projects-

Mrs. Mae Cowan-Chairman

Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak

Mrs. George Donick

Mrs. Max Musser

Miss Lillian Wallace

Miss Hazel Ladd

Publicity-

Mrs. James Horton

Hospital Service-

Mrs. Mae Cowan

Mrs. Thomas Bee

Hospitality-

Mrs. Oscar Thomas

Committees-Continued

By Laws-Mrs. Oliver Tompkins Mrs. Garth Tompkins

Representative to County Federation Mrs. Carlton Ladd

Nominating Committee-Mrs. Marshall Pratt-Chairman Mrs. Robert DeVol Mrs. Kenneth Manigold, Jr. October 7th, 1965

Buffet Supper 6:30 P.M. Fire Hall

"Tourists have no idea where they are going but look forward to the trip." Hy. Gardiner

Program Chairman: Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Program: Art
Miss Marjorie Votey

Hostesses:

Mrs. Max Musser-Chairman Mrs. Willard Berry Mrs. Edward Walker Mrs. Valter Johnson Mrs. Walter LaBatt Mrs. James Horton

October 21, 1965

7:30 P.M.

Behold the sea, the opaline, the plentiful and strong.

Program Chairman: Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Program: The Sea Around Us Mr. and Mrs. Max Musser

Hostesses: Mrs. Oliver Tompkins Mrs. George Donick

November 4, 1965 2:30 P.M.

"No man is an island."
Donne

Program Chairman:
Mrs. William Marshall

Program: Migrant Labor Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Hostesses: Mrs. Seth Tompkins Mrs. Frances Kelsey

November 18, 1965

2:30 P.M.

"If you intend to work, there is no better place than where you are.

Lincoln

Program Chairman: Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Program: Township Government Mr. Raymond Carroll, Peninsula Township Supervisor

Hostesses: Mrs. Roy Ostlund Mrs. Thomas Bee

December 2, 1965

2:30 P.M.

"And the smoke it encircled his head like a wreath."

Clement C. Moore

Program Chairman:
Mrs. William Marshall

Program: Making wreaths and garlands for Christ-mas decorations.

Hostesses: Mrs. Villiam Marshal

December 16, 1965

7:30 P.M.

And voices chanted clear and sweet today the Prince is born.

Program Chairman:
Mrs. William Marshall

Program: Dr. Pai Mrs. Agnes Williams Christmas Music

Hostesses: Mrs. Geo. Altenburg
Miss Annette Evans
Mrs. Robert DeVol
Mrs. Garth Tompkins

January 6, 1966 7:30 P.M.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Program Chairman: Mrs. Thomas Bee

Program: Origami-(Everyone bring a metal tray) Mrs. Armond Arney

Hostesses:

Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak Mrs. Mae Cowan

Jenuary 20, 1966

2:30 P.M.

Sit on a cushion and sew a fine seam!

Program Chairman: Mrs. Thomas Bee

Program: Tailoring and Alteration Mrs. Dallas Alsup

Hostesses: Mrs. Oscar Thomas Mrs. Mobert Ruller

February 17, 1966

2:30 P.M.

It pays to keep calm in a crisis and when there isn't one;

Program Chairman: Mrs. Carl Pratt

Program: State Police-First Aid

Hostesses: Mrs. Lester Dana Miss Hazel Ladd

March 4, 1966 2:30 P.M.

" I want a broad margin to my life."

Thoreau

Program Chairman: Mrs. Carl Pratt

Program: The Heart of Europe Mrs. Lucille Edgecomb

Hostesses: Mrs. Marshall Pratt Mrs. Frank Phelps

March 18, 1966

2:30 P.M.

Schoolrooms are like living rooms. You can tell the ones that are learned in.

Program Chairman: Mrs. Carl Pratt

Program: Tour of Northwestern Wichigan College

Hostesses: Mrs. Garth Tompkins Mrs. Carl Pratt Mrs. Curtis Leighton

April 8, 1966

2:30 P.M.

Easter Tea:

"To the dead He Sayeth, Arise-To the living - follow me!" Longfellow

Program Chairman:
Mrs. Seth Tompkins

Program: Easter

Hostesses: Miss Lillian Vallace Mrs. Frank Weatherholt Mrs. Kenneth Manigold Jr. Mrs. Roy Holmes

April 22, 1966

1:00 P.M.

Program Chairman: Mrs. Edward Walker

Program: Trip to Gwen Frostic's Studio

Hostesses:

Mrs. William Marshall

Mrs. Carl Pratt

Mrs. Edward Walker

Mrs. Thomas Bee

Mrs. Seth Tompkins

May 7, 1966

1:00 P.M.

Spring Luncheon

Arrangements to be made by the executive board.

Mrs. Frank Weatherholt Miss Hazel Ladd

Mrs. Lawrence Mlujeak Mrs. Robert Fuller

"To live in the hearts we leave behind is not to die."

Mrs. Judson Ladd
Mrs. John Drew
Mrs. Albert Prescott
Mrs. Evelyn Spruit
Dr. Eloise Walker
Miss Susan Walker
Mrs. Luther Baldwin
Mrs. William Peck
Mrs. Arthur Pingry
Miss Gertrude Lardie
Mrs. W. Gill Tompkins
Mrs. Roy Lehr